Hello from Lima!

Today marks the first day of my circumnavigation of the world. During my seven-hour flight, I couldn’t help but think about how fortunate I am to go to Peru to conduct a research on a topic that is dear to my heart! After months of preparation and hundreds of emails sent, I finally landed at Jorge Chavez International Airport in Lima and I couldn’t be happier! The weather is awesome and la gente aqui es muy buena! Although I have to admit that my Spanish was a bit rusty at 7am, I am pleased to say that I was able to carry on lively conversations by the end of the day.

After taking a two-hour nap at my hostel, I went to my very first interview. I met with Señora Patricia Carrillo Montenegro, the Director General of the Gender Mainstreaming at the Ministry of Women and Vulnerable Populations. Sra. Carrillo Montenegro was extremely gracious and not only answered a few questions pertaining to my project, but also connected me to several important stakeholders in Lima. After an amazing experience at the Ministry, I strolled around Jiron de la Union (where I spotted a few beautiful murals) before going back to my hostel in Miraflores.

While I am beyond exhausted, I am grateful for this wonderful opportunity and definitely look forward to explore Lima tomorrow! In the meantime, I will fall asleep thinking of the breathtaking Pacific Ocean (pictured below).

Buenas noches! imageI took this picture of the Pacific Ocean while I was on my way to my hostel. Wish you were here!

Leave a Reply

